100 words no more no less · Damien's stories · July

For Sale and Never Worn

By Damien McKeating

IT was the saddest thing I’d ever read and it was just an advertisement. Six words and the contact details.

Never worn.

Those final words were the ones that broke my heart.

I took their details and went out to find them. I didn’t know what I could do… Offer some support, perhaps? Some sympathy?

At the house I could barely hold back the tears. The father looked at me bemused.

“The baby’s shoes,” I said, “never worn.”

“No,” the father answered. “He was born too big. Nearly 10 pounds. They just didn’t fit.”

Well… the advert wasn’t very clear.

©Damien McKeating 2016

One thought on “For Sale and Never Worn

Leave a Reply

